wmbr phone or text: 617.253.8810
listen: hi : med : lo
Mon 11:15 PM : now playing:  QV Noise 88.1 fm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The WMBR Noise/Experimental Music Concert Report

  • Friday, May 12:
    • [Now through September] Listen Hear: The Art of Sound exhibition - Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum

  • Saturday, May 13:
    • Timbila and Chartwell Dutiro: A night of music from Zimbabwe and beyond - Lilypad, 7:30 pm

  • Monday, May 15:
    • Together Festival presents: Alessandro Cortini, Ricardo Donoso, & Proxemia - Middlesex Lounge, 8 pm

  • Wednesday, May 17:
    • Amanda Palmer, & Edward Ka-Spel (of the Legendary Pink Dots) - Middle East Downstairs

  • Thursday, May 18:
    • Sir Richard Bishop, Robert Millis, & Trevor Healy - Flywheel Arts Collective, Easthampton, 8 pm, more info: https://www.facebook.com/events/1844729885769155/
    • Together Festival presents: Soul Clap, & Dam Funk - The Sinclair
    • Together Festival presents: Simian Mobile Disco, & Jacques Greene - Middlesex Lounge

  • Friday, May 19:

  • Saturday, May 20:
    • Together Festival presents: Com Truise / Clare, & Andre Obin - Middle East Downstairs

Coming Up...

  • Wednesday, May 24:
    • Non-Event presents: Tom Recchion (of L.A. Free Music Society) and Brendan Murray - Goethe-Institut Boston, 8 pm

  • Thursday, May 25:
    • Mobius presents Concrete Actions in Heroic Encounters: Artists respond to Boston City Hall in an evening of interactive performance art, video, installation, & sound and movement - Boston City Hall, 5-9 pm, free!
    • Screening of two Sigur Ros films, & Heima and Inni - Brattle Theatre, 7:30 and 9:30 pm

  • Friday, May 26:

  • Saturday, June 3:
    • Birdsongs of Mesozoic, & Audrey Harrer - Once, 10 pm
    • Sonorium presents: Angela Sawyer, Matt Weston, Ryan Kayhart, & Eames Armstrong / Cory O'Brien - Gallows Hill Theatre, Salem, 8 pm
    • Open Sound presents: Viola Yip, Kirsten Volness, & Cobra (by John Zorn) - Third Life Studio, 8 pm

  • Monday, June 5:
    • Horse Lords, Creative Healing, & Spy in the Sky - Hojoko

  • Tuesday, June 6:
    • Pharmakon, Pelada, Isabella, & DJ Dayglow - Cambridge Elks Lodge, 9 pm

  • Thursday, June 8:
    • Bastard Noise, Dropdead, Jarhead Fertilizer, Sickness, & Horrible Earth - Middle East Upstairs

  • Saturday, June 10:
    • Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds - Wang Theatre
    • [Sat-Sun] Head_Explode.gif Fest featuring Foodman, Container, Patricia, M. Geddes Gengras, Giant Claw, Val Martino, & Soren Roi - Sonia's / Elks Lodge

  • Sunday, June 11:

  • Tuesday, June 13:
    • Non-Event presents: Id M Theftable - Cafe Fixe, 7 pm

  • Sunday, June 18:
    • Non-Event presents: EKG (Ernst Karel / Kyle Bruckmann) performs Alvin Lucier's Serenade, & solo sets by Karel and Bruckmann - Le Laboratoire Cambridge, 7 pm

  • Wednesday, June 21:
    • Open Sound presents: A special 100 person outside performance of John Cage's Variations III for Make Music Day! - TBA

  • Thursday, June 22:

  • Sunday, July 2:
    • Busdriver, Zeroh, Ceschi, Pink Navel, & Ed Balloon - Middle East Upstairs

  • Saturday, July 15:

  • Thursday, July 20:
    • Thurston Moore Group - The Sinclair

  • Wednesday, July 26:
    • Nite Jewel, Harriet Brown, & Geneva Jacuzzi - Once, 8:45 pm

  • Wednesday, September 13:
    • Thee Oh Sees, & Creaturos - The Sinclair

  • Thursday, September 21:
    • Severed Heads - Once, 8 pm

Please Note:
  • Addresses of many Boston area clubs can be found here.
  • Local bands are only listed the week of the show.
  • Additions, changes and corrections for rock/pop/punk shows only can be made by writing to: rock-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about upcoming roots/americana/blues/cajun/zydeco shows, please use the address: roots-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about upcoming Jazz shows, please use the address: jazz-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about upcoming World Music shows, please use the address: world-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about Any Other music shows, please use the address: other-listings email address
Massachvsetts Institvte of Technology ® WMBR is a registered servicemark of the Technology Broadcasting Corporation.  Contact WMBR