wmbr requests: 617.253.8810
listen: hi : med : lo
Fri 2:21 PM : now playing:  Coffeetime 88.1 fm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The WMBR Noise/Experimental Music Concert Report

  • Monday, December 30:
    • Peter Gumaskas, Jason Belcher, & and friends New Year's Party - Weirdo Records, 8 pm

  • Tuesday, December 31:
    • Rusko - Julep Bar
    • Nude Ears Eve: Wei Zhongle, Rob Jacobs, John McCowen, Sam Klickner, Gnarwhal, Chappy Hull, Tyler Coburn, Woozy, Johnathan Cash, Alex Nowacki, I.C.P.C.P., LSDV, mysterybear / Koulendros Duo, BiRdOrGaN, The Ryan Baker Instigation, Lak / Wright Duo, & HEXbeam - 119 Gallery, Lowell

Coming Up...

  • Saturday, January 4:
    • Cellular Chaos (Weasel Walter's current band), Designer, & Tinsel Teeth - Lilypad

  • Monday, January 6:
    • Long Blonde Wig - Weirdo Records, 8 pm

  • Thursday, January 9:

  • Friday, January 10:
    • Doug Tuttle, Gary War, & Endless Caverns - Lily Pad, 10 pm

  • Tuesday, January 14:
    • Shredded Nerve, Deceiver, A Snake in the Garden, & Vehement Caress - O'Brien's, 8 pm
    • Non-Event presents: Asha Tamarisa, & Caroline Park - Cafe Fixe, 8 pm

  • Thursday, January 16:
    • Pianist Stephen Drury performs music by Frederic Rzewski, Frederic Chopin, John Zorn, & Lee Hyla - Jordan Hall at New England Conservatory, 8 pm

  • Saturday, January 18:
    • Open Sound presents: Ken Ueno / Frances-Mairie Ultti, Mike Bullock, & Morgan Evans-Waller - Third Life Studio, 8 pm

  • Sunday, January 19:

  • Saturday, January 25:

  • Thursday, February 6:
    • Callithumpian Consort with composer Lee Hyla - Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum, 7 pm

  • Saturday, February 8:
    • Open Sound presents: Orlando Cela, & Bats from Pogo (Walter Wright / Andrea Pensado) - Third Life Studio, Somerville, 8 pm

  • Tuesday, February 11:
    • Non-Event presents: Jonathan Zorn - Cafe Fixe, 8 pm

  • Thursday, February 20:
    • Non-Event presents: Bhob Rainey and Bonnie Jones - Goethe-Institut, 8 pm

  • Saturday, March 1:

  • Tuesday, March 11:
    • Xiu Xiu, & Tearist - Middle East Upstairs

  • Tuesday, March 25:

  • Thursday, April 3:
    • Susan Howe and David Grubbs perform WOODSLIPPERCOUNTERCLATTER, & a sound-work featuring text collages by Howe blended with the resonant sounds of the piano and field recordings made in the Gardner Museum - Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum, 7 pm

  • Sunday, April 6:
    • Zakir Hussain and Masters of Percussion - Boston Symphony Hall, 7 pm

  • Sunday, April 13:

  • Thursday, April 17:
    • A Far Cry with Phyllis Chen perform music by Ives, Mendelssohn, Phyllis Chen, Mozart, & Ingram Marshall - Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum, 7 pm

  • Friday, April 25:
    • Huun Huur Tu - First Church in Cambridge Congregational, 8 pm

  • Friday, May 10:

  • Saturday, May 11:
    • Sun Ra's Centenary: Space Is Still the Most Colorful Place, a celebration of Sun Ra's 100th birthday featuring performances of his music by New England Conservatory faculty and students, & accompanied by stories and projected imagery depicting his fascination with space and ancient civilizations led by Egypt expert Larry Berman - Museum of Fine Arts, Remis Auditorium, 2-3:30 pm

Please Note:
  • Addresses of many Boston area clubs can be found here.
  • Local bands are only listed the week of the show.
  • Additions, changes and corrections for rock/pop/punk shows only can be made by writing to: rock-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about upcoming roots/americana/blues/cajun/zydeco shows, please use the address: roots-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about upcoming Jazz shows, please use the address: jazz-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about upcoming World Music shows, please use the address: world-listings email address
  • To submit announcement about Any Other music shows, please use the address: other-listings email address
Massachvsetts Institvte of Technology ® WMBR is a registered servicemark of the Technology Broadcasting Corporation.  Contact WMBR